Welcome to StudioDax!

22 04 2010

Well, I’m finally getting around to working on the blog – I’m so embarrassed that it has taken such a back seat to other activities. But I’ll be starting to post some interesting content – some basic tutorials, some new class projects, tips and tricks, tool how-to’s, teaching and business related, and spotlights on other interesting craftspeople and vendors. The focus will be on jewelry making, but I’m happy to veer off a bit now and then, and write about other artistic endeavors.

I’ve had a shop on Etsy since August 2009, and I’ve been introduced to some phenomenal artists who have shops over there – I am especially jealous of all the great fiber folk who create things from fabrics and yarns – the handmade clothing, handbags, housewares, etc… I am so useless when it comes to working with them! But I’ve recently discovered how to make beautiful cording with ribbon and yarn using a technique called kumihimo, so I’m hoping that will satisfy my fiber lust!! I’m already planning a few classes on kumihimo, so you’ll see more of it here.

I’ll be back soon, but in the meanwhile, here’s a photo of my latest “SOLD” item… they’re a great pair of earrings, made with copper and vintage Japanese glass beads. The copper has been shaped and folded, then the manipulated to create the wonderful fan shape…

Copper Fan Earrings


Actions

Information

One response

26 04 2010
Sheryl

Love those earrings — I like the fan image and the earthy colors. I don’t make jewelry but it was interesting to read about what goes into it! Keep it rollin — looks great!

Leave a Reply

